Each year, many DUIs happen throughout Florida. Whether you felt impaired or not to drive won’t matter in the eyes of a judge. Therefore, it’s understandable to wonder what happens after receiving a DUI charge. With that in mind, Florida and its DUI offenders are seeing the benefits of court-ordered programs.
Facing jail or attending a court-ordered treatment program
The exact punishment for a DUI in Florida varies based on several factors, including whether or not this is your first offense. A court will also examine the extent of damage caused by your DUI if any. Fortunately, not everyone who receives a DUI charge will go to jail or have to pay significant fines. Instead, certain DUI offenders have the option to attend a court-ordered treatment program.
What to expect while receiving court-ordered treatment
Research shows that court-ordered programs allow people to receive treatment far more beneficial than having these people spend time in jail cells. The exact treatments you’ll receive from court-ordered programs will vary slightly depending on the facility. Most of these programs last 10 to 15 weeks.
You can generally expect these programs to feature some or all of the following:
- Attending various educational courses in person or online
- Taking part in private therapy or counseling sessions
- Going to group meetings, such as Alcoholics Anonymous
While court-ordered treatment programs are lengthy, they are undoubtedly preferable to jail time. You’ll also want to remember that, on average, a DUI will cost an offender about $10,000. These costs factor in lawyers’ fees, court costs, increased automobile insurance costs, paying for a potential interlock device and other fines.