There are a few reasons why you could have your license suspended in Florida including drinking while driving or being in an accident that was your fault. This means that you are not legally allowed to drive. If you do happen to drive, there are a few consequences that you could face.
What you could expect
If you decide to drive with a suspended license, which is one of the misdemeanors that could result in time in jail if you’re convicted, the first offense could mean being sentenced to up to 60 days in jail. You could also be ordered to pay a fine of up to $500. As you continue driving and receive other charges, you could face up to five years in prison and fines up to $5,000. Repeated violations could result in your license being revoked.
While in Florida, there are a few steps to consider regarding having your license reinstated. An option would be to wait until the suspension period is over. When this occurs, you can usually approach the court to request that your license be reinstated. You could apply for a hardship license if you do need to drive to get back and forth to work or for other emergency situations. There are courses that you will likely need to take in order for your license to be reinstated. A verification letter will need to be submitted that shows that you have completed the class. Any conditions attached to the suspension need to be completed, and any fines need to be paid before your license is reinstated.
While a suspended license might seem like a major issue, it often involves misdemeanor charges. By following the required steps, there’s a possibility that you could have your license reinstated so that you’re back on the road.