A felony is recognized as a serious criminal offense by law enforcement and society. A Class 3 felony in Florida carries fines and prison terms that vary based on the severity of the crime.
A Class 3, or third-degree felony, is the least severe type of felony under Florida law. Third-degree felonies include battery, kidnapping, hit and run, aggravated assault, possessing a concealed firearm without a license and striking a law enforcement officer among other crimes.
Many Class 3 felonies result from serious, first-time offenses that may or may not include violence, such as arson, stalking and kidnapping. A Class 3 felony that includes violence is given the maximum punishment allowed by law.
This felony is given to people who are convicted of numerous misdemeanor offenses. Often a third misdemeanor offense leads to a Class 3 felony conviction. An example is a third-time DUI conviction that occurs within 10 years of the second DUI conviction.
The punishment includes fines up to $10,000 and two to 10 years in prison. Third-degree felons are no longer allowed to bear arms. This type of felony may carry fines up to $100,000 and five to 20 years in prison. Crimes that include acts of violence carry the maximum punishments.
Consequences for a Class 3 felony
Felonies are severely punished crimes that vary from fraud to domestic violence and DUI offenses. Misdemeanors are less severe and often include nonviolent crimes. A third-degree felony is punished less severely than a first- or second-degree felony that includes murder, rape and aggravated robbery. The punishments for a Class C felony include fines up to $100,000 and sentences varying from one year to life in prison.