Speeding is treated as a serious offense because of the danger it poses to other drivers. Drivers can face stiff fines based on the speed and get points added to their license. Speeding offenses in Tampa, Florida, are classified as misdemeanors or felonies based on the circumstances.
Misdemeanor vs. felony speeding offenses
Florida drivers have a duty of care to drive the posted speed and not any faster than reasonable for the conditions. Misdemeanor speeding tickets are offenses more serious than infractions, such as a seat belt violation, but less serious than felonies. Driving less than 5 mph over the posted limit generally doesn’t get the driver pulled over or issued a ticket.
Driving between 30 and 49 mph over the posted limit counts as a misdemeanor and requires the driver to go to court. Driving more than 30 miles over the posted speed may result in a criminal misdemeanor charge of reckless driving. A felony is the most serious speeding offense, which commonly means going 50 miles over the posted speed.
Getting caught driving 6-9 mph over the limit commonly includes a $144 fine and adds three license points. All speeding offenses in Florida commonly add a minimum of three points to the license, and a license can get suspended at 18 points. For a first offense, drivers can usually get points removed through driver’s education.
Sometimes, drivers may get a warning for driving 6-9 mph over the speed limit; otherwise, they pay a $118-$151 fine. The penalty for driving 50 miles or more over the speed limit is $1,000 for the first offense.
Speeding tickets go on a driving record and may increase the driver’s insurance rates. Getting a speeding ticket doesn’t mean a driver can’t fight it, however.